Don Turner Weblog

6 July 2008

Stuff 20080706 I’m Back

Filed under: Uncategorized — dhthinker @ 1:36 pm

stuff-20080706-stuff-is-back1 

OPEN THIS PDF FILE TO SEE THIS WEEK’S “STUFF THAT SEEMS INTERESTING AT THE TIME

Hello Family and Friends:

…another Sunday…

…and…

…some Stuff that Seemed Interesting at the Time…

 

All the best…

 

Don

What Stuff is Different in Stuff

Well folks, you will notice I’m getting this “Stuff Newsletter” to you several ways.

n  I’m sending a link via my old system.  The link takes you to WordPress where there is a PDF file to open

n  I’m posting this on WordPress.  In the future you can go to wordpress directly to check and see if there any new postings.  The site is https://donturner.wordpress.com/ .  You can also set up a RSS feed that will notify you when there is new postings

n  Finally, I’m also sending this via Feedblitz – which is a control distribution system.  It formalizes the “opt in” that I’ve always put in the Disclaimer of Stuff, if you don’t want to get this, just send me a “thank you, but no thank you” email.

We’ll continue experimenting until I get a system that fits the way I do my Voodoo.

Hope you enjoy it – should be fun this election time.

 

This week our curiosity brings us to:

Table of Contents

STUFF THAT SEEMED INTERESTING AT THE TIME. 1

stuff table of contents. 1

cindy mccain – untold american story stuff. 3

taxpayers voting for democrats stuff. 4

american business tragedy stuff. 4

truth about anwr stuff. 5

nuclear power plant – u.s. vs. france – stuff. 9

president and the war – something to think about stuff. 10

poetry stuff. 11

Two michelle ‘s. 12

stuff that made me think of other stuff. 14

a.a.a.d.d. stuff. 14

this is true stuff. 16

the people responsible for america’s woes stuff. 16

children science exam answers stuff. 18

grand canyon man made flood stuff. 20

my resume stuff. 21

george will questions obama stuff. 21

Teacher’s Salary. 23

final thought stuff. 24

explanatory – yet poignant – disclaimer. 25

 

A NOTE ON “STUFF”

Folks, “stuff” is now back as a blog – I will post every Sunday.  I may even post short little “ditties” during the week when compelled.

For a few months I will send out a notification.  However, after that you will simply have to go the website at your convenience.  Please note, if you want to be notified whenever there is a new posting, I’ve also included directions for an RSS feed that will notify you automatically.

It has been a five month hiatus that was badly needed yet only increased my appetite for finding interesting “stuff.”  With the pending election, exponentially increasing energy crisis, continuing war on terrorism, discovery of new planets outside of our solar system, new revelations about Stonehenge, etc – I’ve got a lot to say these days.

As a blog it is easier for me to publish.  Why? Just easier for me to process and – frankly – I maintain my position that I create this weekly diatribe for me.  As an intellectual catharsis, an emotional catholicon, and a spiritual revivification or so the story goes.

I remember when I started this “Stuff” over thirteen years ago as a personal intellectual adventure.  It started with the fact that I am a voracious reader and a student of pretty much everything in the Universe.  As such, with the intent of finding a way to “process” – i.e., synthesize – all of the stuff that I read and studied I wrote notes about it.  Sometimes would just copy it down, other times would add my editorial thoughts – what I liked/disliked about the subject, what I learned, what I thought, what new questions were raised (ED: as any intellectual journey will inevitably produce), what questions I still had.

Well, one day my brother saw it and asked for a copy.  My reply was, “Are you sure? it is just eclectic thoughts – not even sure it makes sense at times” but wanted and received he did.  Then he showed someone else and they showed someone else and after awhile I had all of these email requests from folks who wanted to read about stuff they might not normally read about – in other words “stuff that seemed interesting at the time.”

Over time, this newsletter somewhat took on a life of its own.

Poetry (ED: long time readers know of my love for the Bard), the sciences, politics, social dynamics, technology, space, DNA, nature…

…I could go on and on.  Fact is, there is so very much to learn in this Universe and so very little time to learn it.  Unfortunately, the way it seems to work is that more I study the more I realize how little I truly know.  I’m reminded of what one of my intellectual acquaintance, Socrates, who said:

“One thing only I know, and that is that I know nothing”

Nonetheless, as appropriate will continue to make changes in how I do this Voodoo I do – but for now I hope you enjoy some time each week seeking and embracing stuff that seemed interesting at the time.  I leave you with this thought:

“The greater our knowledge increases, the greater our ignorance unfolds.”

  ~  John F. Kennedy

 

 

 

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

